My Diastasis Recti Surgery | One Year Post Op

Here you can see why I had surgery.

Here you can see my recovery.

It’s hard for me to believe that it’s been a year since I went through diastasis recti surgery.  I just had my one year post op appointment with my surgeon.  She was so happy with my results that she said I was a poster child for this surgery.  While at my appointment they took photos, then they showed me the before and after photos…I couldn’t believe the difference!  I think I forgot how bad my belly looked before surgery!

Before & After

Before & After

Due to the number of requests I receive about how I’m doing these days, I wanted to give an update along with pictures. I’ll answer some of the more frequent questions I get, and I’ll go into a little more detail on what life is like after the surgery.

IMG_2987

  • How soon post partum did you have your surgery?

I was 4 1/2 months post partum when I had my surgery.  The only reason I did it so soon after birth was for insurance reasons.  For the sake of your family I would say wait until the baby/babies are older!

  • How are you feeling?

I feel great!  The only time I notice anything is when I am working out.  Stretching or tightening the abdominal muscles does feel strange at times, with the occasional burning sensation.  The burning sensation I’m referring to, is not the muscle burn you get when working out, but a burning pain that I felt after my surgery.  I only notice this when I am pushing myself and my core is straining.

  • How long is the recovery?

I’m sure this is different for every person.  For me, I was feeling almost back to normal by 3 months post op.  I started to try and get some workouts in around 6 months post op, but time was still limited for that so not a lot of working out going on!

  • Do you regret your decision to have the surgery?

No, I am very happy with my decision.  I haven’t had any major issues with this surgery and feel so much better physically.  No more back pain, or workout limits, along with no longer having a terrible looking mommy tummy!

  • Are you happy with the results?

Absolutely!!  My surgeon did an amazing job!  Other than the fact that my skin is so thin below my belly button, which can’t be fixed, and is the result of having four babies, I think my belly looks great.

  • Would I recommend this surgery?

Well I would suggest trying physical therapy first.  Sometimes the gap can be fixed with the correct exercises.  Then if the therapist suggests that you get the surgery, then go for it!

IMG_2990

I am currently using my Young Living essential oils to help with my scarring. My incision already looks pretty great and if I used my oils consistently I think it would be almost gone by now.  I’m currently using Lavendar, Lemongrass, and Vetiver diluted with a carrier oil on my incision. I’m also using these oils on my stretch marks.IMG_2988

I also used my essential oils once I got home from having my surgery. At the time, I only had the Young Living starter kit and was limited with what would help best with my pain management. I diffused Frankincense, Lavender, and Lemon oils for the entire time I was in bed recovering, along with putting Frankincense and Peppermint oils on my feet.

I hope I have covered most of the questions about the surgery.  Now I just need to get myself back in shape!

2 thoughts on “My Diastasis Recti Surgery | One Year Post Op

  1. Pingback: My Diastasis Recti Surgery | Introduction | Surprised with twins!

  2. Thank you for sharing your story. My stomach looked exactly like yours after carrying 3 big boys. It’s comforting knowing someone else that has experienced this as well because I do not know anyone personally that has. I also had surgery I will be a year post op in July and like you I do not regret it at all. Insurance did not cover mine except for the umbilical hernia but either way I am happy I had my diastasis corrected. My doctor told me my stomach muscles were very far apart and she was surprised I did not have back problems. I had about a 4 finger gap between my stomach muscles.

Leave a Reply

