Week three…

I have officially survived two weeks of being home by myself with all the girls!  I have had my mom over a few times (bringing me lunch) for short periods of time but otherwise I have been on my own.  For now it really hasn’t been that bad.  The hardest part is the older girls being stuck inside for too long, but this is more because of the very hot temps outside, which then causes some major meltdowns.  These girls like their freedom!

Raegan and Skylee

Raegan and Skylee

Avery and Rylee

Avery and Rylee

The twins will be four weeks on Monday and I can’t believe its only been four weeks…I have felt so good since having the babies that I feel like it has been longer than four weeks.  I still plan on blogging about the birth story but have not had time to actually write it down, I wonder why?!  I haven’t even looked through the photos that we took while at the hospital!

Sweet babies!

Sweet babies!

Just this week the twins started going 4-5 hrs between feedings at night.  It’s usually after their 9pm-10pm feeding and waking around 2am-3am, but then they go right back to the three-hour schedule, so we are then awake again at 5am-6am and then 8am-9am.  Sometimes they are both good about going right back to sleep and some nights Rylee will give us trouble after the first feeding and Skylee will give us trouble at the second feeding or vice versa!

Love the bed head Rylee!

Love the bed head Rylee!

Almost caught Skylee smiling on camera!

Almost caught Skylee smiling on camera!

We have some “happy spitters” on our hands.  Meaning that these girls (yes both of them!) spit up a lot!  We have been through this before with our first baby so we know some techniques to help, and she outgrew it around four months, but it’s definitely harder with two babies.  We go through a lot of burp cloths!  Thankfully this week I found a new article with some techniques to try, and after trying them I have noticed a little less spitting. Yay!

Rylee

Rylee

Skylee

Skylee

At times the big sisters are a little too helpful…they have both picked up the babies without me being there to help, as in right next to them.  The first time they each did it the hubby was still home with us. So we explained to them how we need to help them hold the babies because we don’t want to hurt them since they are so small.  I thought we were doing good and had them understanding that they couldn’t pick up the babies without help…nope!  Twice this week Raegan picked up the babies by herself.  The first time it was Skylee and they both were already on the couch, I was nearby pumping so able to reach over and help out, but still a stressful moment!  The second time Rylee was in the baby swing fussing and I had just left the room to get Skylee.  Next thing I know I hear Avery telling Raegan that Rylee didn’t want to be in her boppy pillow, say what?!  I quickly come back in the room and Raegan had somehow picked Rylee up out of the swing and climbed onto the couch with her giving this momma a heart attack!

I love that I caught this picture.  Skylee reminds me so much of Avery when she was a baby!

I love that I caught this picture. Skylee reminds me so much of Avery when she was a baby!

photo 1 (6)

Well that pretty much sums up some exciting moments from the last week and a half!

2 thoughts on “Week three…

  1. Let’s hope the guardian angels are always around the babies for those helpful moments Avery and Reagan decide to chip in! They are absolutely precious—all of them. Glad to hear you’re still doing okay. I think about you often and wonder how it’s going. Let me know when you are back to business with your photography. I need to find out some prices from you.

    • Yes, I hope so! We are still working on Raegan but Avery understands not to pick them up herself.
      For the photography we are setting up appointments now so just let us know what you would like!

Leave a Reply

