11 weeks

I had my first appointment with my OB one week after my interview appointment due to the fact that I was expecting twins.  I am greeted by my doctor’s nurse who remembered me from my last pregnancy and is just as excited about the twins as I was, she asks how I am feeling and if my husband and I were shocked by the news.  So I feel her in on how I told my husband and how we were shocked but excited!  She then tells me that I am going to go to the ultrasound room and get another ultrasound, twins are considered high risk and so I will get ultrasounds at every appointment to make sure everything is going great with the babies.

During the ultrasound the babies were doing great and had great heart rates.

Baby A: HB 172

Baby B: HB 169

I went back to the exam room to see my OB.  My doctor comes in and congratulates me on the big news.  Asks me how I have been feeling and then mentions that the babies looked great on the ultrasound.  My doctor who also had a twin pregnancy tells me that later in the pregnancy we will go over my options such as; C-section or vaginal delivery, gestational diabetes, and many other high risk factors that come along with a twin pregnancy.  She also tells me she will start seeing me every two weeks at 24 weeks and will give me the inside scoop on having twins during some of our future appointments.

Before leaving I asked my doctor if it was safe to tell family and friends about the pregnancy, I have always waited until 12 weeks with my other pregnancies but was nervous about this pregnancy.  I am so glad I did ask because my doctor told me she recommended that I wait another 4 weeks, only because twins are high risk and you never know what could happen early on in the pregnancy.

Total weight gain: 4 lbs! I’m on my way to my weight gain goal for twins of 24 lbs by 24 weeks!

Maternity clothes? Just bought a new pair of maternity jeans and a maternity skirt, but for now have been able to get by with the rubber band method!

Sleep: Still able to sleep on my back but feel occasional discomfort from that so will have to start side sleeping very soon.

Best moment this week: Getting to see the babies again!

Movement: None yet

Gender: Don’t know yet

Food cravings: Turkey sandwiches, toasted of course! Salads

Symptoms: Occasional nausea and exhaustion!

Wedding rings on or off? On

Looking forward to: Next OB appointment

Leave a Reply

